This page is used to view, add and edit user groups. Per user group the rights of the users, the event categories available to the users and the group color can be specified.
The initial installation has a User Group defined for each possible type of user permission. Each calendar user is assigned to one of the existing user groups. User groups can be edited, and new user groups can be added, by users with administrator or manager rights. Adding and editing user groups is done via the hamburger menu to the top-right. A user group defines the user access rights of the users assigned to this group and the event categories available to the users in the group. Furthermore a number of check boxes are available to specify whether users in this group may upload files,
enter repeating events, multi-day events and private events. Via a color palette a background color can be selected for each group. On the admin's Settings page the administrator can specify whether calendar events should be displayed with the color of the event category or the color of the group to which the creator of the event belongs.
The opening page will show a list with all user groups, indicating the the rights and privileges of the users assigned to the group. By means of the Edit and Delete links at the right side, a user group can be edited or deleted. The first two user groups with IDs 1 and 2 are the groups for public users and the administrator and cannot be deleted. Users are assigned to user groups and for your convenience a direct link to the Users page is shown underneath the table.
- ID (Edit User Group form only): This is a read-only field showing the ID of the user group in the database.
By selecting the edit link or the Add Group button, a new page will open showing a form with user group data fields.
Description of the fields on the Add/Edit Groups form:
- Group name: The user group name.
- Background color: The color of the users assigned to this user group. (On the Settings page the administrator can choose to display events in the various views with the user group background color or with the event category color).
- User rights: The calendar access rights for the users assigned to this group.
- No access: If users are assigned to a group with 'No access' rights, this will typically be the public (not logged in) users. When opening the calendar, these users will be prompted with the Log In page.
- View calendar: Users with view calendar rights will only be able to view the calendar. When they click an event title in the various views, the Event Report will open. They will not be able to add or edit events.
- Post/edit own events: Users with these rights will be able to view all events and add and edit their own events. When they select an other event, the Event Report will open. They will not be able to edit events of other users.
- Post/edit all events: Users with these rights will be able to view all events and add and edit all events. When they select an event, the Event Edit window will open. They will be able to edit their own events and events of other users.
- Post/edit + manager: Users with 'Manager' rights have 'Post/edit all' rights and in addition they can approve events of other users which require approval. Furthermore they can change the owner of an event and they have access to the following administration pages: Categories, Users and User Groups.
- Administrator: Users with 'Administrator' rights can add and edit all event. Furthermore they can change the owner of an event and they have access to all administration pages.
- Event categories: Per defined event category there are two check boxes, which respectively can be checked to give users in this group rights to view events in the category and rights to add/edit events in the category (provided the user has post rights).
- May post repeating events: When checked, users in this group may create recurring events (events which repeat once or more on a regular basis).
- May post multi-day events: When checked, users in this group may create multi-day events (events which last for two or more days).
- May post private events: When checked, users in this group may create private events (events which are not visible to other users).
- May upload files: When checked, users in this group may upload event attachments (e.g. pdf files, images, video files)
- May send SMS: When checked, users in this group may send SMS.
- Thumbnail priviliges:
- None: User has no right to access the thumbnails-page
- Manage own : User can manage ( and view ) own thumbnails
- View all : User can view all thumbnails, but are not allowed to upload or delete thumbnails.
- Manage own/view all : user are allowed to view all thumbnails and are allowed to upload and to manage/delete own thumbnails.
- Manage all : User are allowed to view and manage all thumbnails.
It is not adviceable that user has full access to thumbnails. Even if a thumbnail in use cannot be deleted, then it is suggested that users should be able to view all thumbnails and to manage own thumbnails.
In group settings, You can specify which categories are available for that group, and Then You can attach users to that group.
Be aware of, that if You give "public user" group, rights to all categories, then this will of course be for all users.
So - You have to decide first which categories that has to be available for public user, and then attach the public user to that group.
You can then make the other groups, and then attach users to these groups.
In the options menu, You can then select on these groups also.
When a user is logged on, he can only select between the categories You have decided for him.
When the user creates an event, he can only create events with a category, that matches what You have set up.