When adding/editing events, if the "Private" check box is checked, the event will only be visible to the user who created the event and to the administrator. For obvious reasons private events can only be created by logged in users.
On the Settings page, under Events, the administrator can set "posting of private events to disabled, enabled, default and always with the following meaning:
- disabled: The "Private" check box will not be visible in the Event window, so no private events can be created.
- enabled: The "Private" check box will be visible in the Event window and will initially be unchecked.
- default: The "Private" check box will be visible in the Event window and will initially be checked.
- always: The "Private" check box will not be visible in the Event window and all created events will be private.
The creation of private events can also be enabled/disabled per individual user group (see Calendar User Groups above). If for a calendar user group private events have been disabled, this will overrule the "Posting of private events = always" setting on the admin's Settings page.